ATOME Academic Advisory Board Members

The Academic Advisory Board (AAB) of the ATOME project consists of academic specialists familiar with issues related to relevant treatment issues and access issues. The Board or members of the Board support the consortium in their scientific and project management tasks and are asked for their specific advice when appropriate. The following scientists are part of the AAB:

Prof. Snezana Bosnjak is specialist in clinical pharmacology with expertise in the pharmacotherapy of symptoms/complications of malignant disease and toxicity of antineoplastic treatment at the Institute of Oncology & Radiology of Serbia, Belgrade, Serbia. As an International Pain Policy Fellow she was trained to identify and remove barriers to availability and accessibility of controlled medicines and is working to improve the availability and accessibility of opioids in Serbia. She is the President of the Serbian National Commission for Palliative Care and a member of the Board of Directors of the Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer.

Prof. Per Sjøgren is anaesthesiologist at the Section of Acute Pain Management and Palliative Medicine, Rigshospitalet, Copenhagen, Denmark. He has researched and published extensively on different aspects of cancer pain management, symptom aetiology, epidemiology, opioid pharmacology and treatment outcomes in palliative care. He is past-president of the Danish Society of Palliative Medicine and a board member of the European Association for Palliative Care.

Prof. Stein Kaasa is a radiooncologist at the Pain and Palliation Research Group at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NTNU). On request from the board of the European Association of Palliative care, he has founded the European Palliative Care Research Centre (PRC), which is based at the Trondheim University Hospital and at the Faculty of Medicine, NTNU. He chairs the Pain and Palliation Research Group at the Norwegian University of Science and Technology in Trondheim, Norway, with a strong focus on translational research, including efficacy of opioid treatment.

Prof. Ambros Uchtenhagen is as psychiatrist at the Research Institute for Public Health and Addiction, Zürich, Switzerland (Associated with University of Zürich). He is the founder and past director of Social Psychiatry services at the University Psychiatric Hospital, and emeritus Professor of social psychiatry in Zurich. In 1994, he set up the Research Institute for Public Health and Addiction, and is since the Chairman of the Board.

Professor David Clark is the Director of the University of Glasgow, Dumfries Campus, in South West Scotland - where he is also Head of the School of Interdisciplinary Studies and Chair of Medical Sociology. He founded the International Observatory on End of Life Care at Lancaster University in 2003 and is a former board member of the European Association for Palliative Care and of Help the Hospices. He is an active member of the EAPC Task Force on the Development of Palliative Care in Europe and has wide ranging interests in the history and global development of palliative care.

Mr. John Lisman is an attorney with a specialisation in pharmaceutical law and head of Lisman Legal Life sciences B.V. in Nieuwerbrug, Netherlands. He graduated in Pharmacy and Law at the Utrecht University. He has been deputy Head of the Unit Medicines and Devices in the Ministry of Health in The Netherlands from 1992 – 1999 with the Dutch implementation of the Single Convention on Narcotic Drugs and the Psychotropic Substances Convention as a direct responsibility. From 1999 – February 2007 he was a drug regulator at the Medicines Evaluation Board, active in many international organizations (such as the WHO, European Medicines Agency, Pharmaceutical Committee). Since 2007 he has been active in private law.


Map representations are for illustration purposes only and are not accurate representations of national boundaries.

Language translations, where provided, have not been verified. ATOME cannot be held responsible for inaccuracies in the translated word.

The research leading to these results has received funding from the European Community's Seventh Framework Programme [FP7/2007-2013] under grant agreement no 222994

© ATOME 2010-2014

Other pages within the site: